Board of Commissioners

The Early Childhood Commission (ECC) is governed by a Board of nineteen (19) Commissioners with an inter-ministerial and inter-sectoral composition. It is of sufficient stature, both in membership and mandate, to be of significant influence within the early childhood sector.  The Board, which is headed by a Chairman, has as its primary role, the undertaking of policy development and oversight of the early childhood sector.

The Board is supported by sub-committees, which through their technical coordinators have overall responsibility to manage and guide the implementation of the Commission’s activities.

There are six (6) sub-committees of the Board, which are as follows:

  • Finance and Procurement
  • Audit
  • Human Resource
  • Regulations and Certification
  • Training, Research and Development
  • IT, Communications & Community Relations

Executive/Senior Management Team

The day-to-day operations of the ECC are undertaken by an executive team, which is lead by the Executive Director, and seven senior managers, who are in charge of the following departments:

  • Audit
  • Communication
  • Community Relations
  • Cross Sectoral Coordination
  • Finance
  • Human Resources and Administration
  • Information Technology
  • Procurement
  • Regulation and Monitoring
  • Sector Support Services
  • Training

The major responsibilities of the operational body include:

  • Leading partnerships in support of interventions to raise public and parental awareness and education on early childhood issues
  • Regulating and monitoring of early childhood institutions
  • Providing leadership for early childhood development services
  • Providing leadership for strategic work for children
  • Providing leadership for development of training, certification and accreditation systems
  • Providing leadership for the coordination of activity at the regional/community levels
  • Providing leadership for integrated research in early childhood development